Lacson Resolution Fetes Top Cops for 2011

Sen. Panfilo M. Lacson commended this year’s recipients of the Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS) for giving Filipinos an inspiration with their dedication to service. 

Lacson, who served as Philippine National Police chief from 1999 to 2001, filed Senate Resolution 562 to stress on the community the importance of supporting the police in fighting crime and keeping the peace.

“The Search emphasizes the need to situate the punitive aspect of law enforcement with the task of community relations and promotes police work as a shared responsibility between the policeman and the community,” he said.

He added the Search for the C.O.P.S. highlights police officers who are models of excellence which will help change the negative public image that the PNP has seemingly acquired, “and inspires the public to work hand in hand with the PNP in preventing and solving crime.”

Lacson also noted the Search is an expression of the civilian sector’s appreciation and gratitude to the effort of the Philippine National Police (PNP) in maintaining the peace and order situation in the country.

Thus, he said the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., Rotary Club of New Manila East and PSBank in congratulating and commending these gallant police officers “who have actively solicited, mobilized, involved and organized the community to become fellow vanguards of the community.”

This year’s C.O.P.S. recipients include:

1. Superintendent Steve B. Ludan
2. Superintendent Samuel P. Turla
3. Chief Inspector Delia J. Ingalla
4. Senior Police Officer 4 Emmanuel P. Isiang
5. Senior Police Officer 2 Helen L. Dela Cruz
6. Senior Police Officer 1 Manuel A. Padlan
7. Police Officer 3 Rodel U. Alcano
8. Police Officer 2 Rina D. Salaya.